You’re welcome, Facebook Generation.

In response to: The Facebook Generation.

I get a distinct sense of “Hands off! Grown ups not welcome here!” from this post. 🙂

I am not the so-called Facebook generation. I am the Star Wars generation. I belong to the group that preceded yours by more than a decade. I was 7 when Star Wars came out, the perfect age to be engrossed and awed by its fantastic universe. I played Pong and Atari. (I still have my Atari.) We learned how to program, grew up with every generation of publicly available computer, used modems on Bulletin Board Systems (BBSes) and then the Internet. We overtook the web with horrible websites like GeoCities and AngelFire.

Web design back then was atrocious. We were geeks and nerds, when those words were still not flattering. So, there was still no sense of content and interactivity online. It was our generation that developed that. We invented the social networks, all of them. We paved the way for the Zuckerbergs of the world, because we are the John Fannings, Brad Fitzpatricks and Craig Newmarks.

We took the Internet away from the exclusivity of corporations and governments and gave it to the people. We expanded it to the world, so that the Information age could encompass the globe, inciting freedom and communication, creativity and global awareness. We gave it to future generations, so that everyone could grow up in a better world, where freedom of information and truth could be found even in the most closed of societies. We gave it to our kids, so that they could continue to learn, grow and share. We eliminated the need for encyclopedias and expanded equality, promoted individual growth and sharing, like never before. We did this for our generation and those that follow, excited to see where a globally connected world could take us.

So, you’re welcome Facebook Generation, but more than that, thank you to the Baby Boomers, who made this possible for us to make it possible for you. 😉
Baby Boom

2 thoughts on “You’re welcome, Facebook Generation.

  1. I didn’t mean to send that tone in my post, though I did feel that way at one time. It was weird watching adults join a forum that had begun as strictly aimed at college students. However, I’ve adjusted my ways of thinking and what I post on Facebook, since I know that my aunts and uncles are also reading my posts. I appreciate being able to communicate with my adult family, and in many ways, I’m more “connected” with them than many of my classmates from the “Facebook Generation.” So, yes, thank you, Baby Boomers, for bringing the internet to our fingertips!

    • I didn’t take it that way myself, as I’m sure you can tell. I just smiled when I noticed a small hint of that in the underlying message. So, I played the Devil’s Advocate in my reply. However, the real intent of my response was to imply that I think focusing on just Facebook in your post, though I know it was the main topic of your submission, was limiting your creativity a bit too much. Facebook has certainly changed the way we communicate online, for sure. However, recognizing it in light of the bigger picture, the branches and ripples it has caused is a fairer assessment of the environment, regardless of the direction the Juggernaut of Facebook has taken since those early days.

Comments are closed.