Oskar in June, 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve updated photos of this guy. He’s gotten even larger, but I always lose track of how big until I compare his photos to older ones.



I know the second and third photos look a bit blurry, but that’s because he’s constantly on the move. It’s hard to capture movement properly with this point and click, but for an oscar that’s is as old as he is, it’s unusual for him to be this active and this colourful.

Everyone asks me how I’ve managed to allow him to keep his colour for this long. I don’t know the answer, to be honest. I just feed him TetraCichlid “Jumbo Carnivore Sticks” and occassionally some BloodWorms. I rarely change the water and rarely have to top it up. He’s very hearty.

Unfortunately, he ate the two gigantic plecostamus I had in the tank to keep it clean, so now I have to do that manually. Anyway, I thoroughly enjoy my oscar and he is certainly a conversation starter for guests.

